h1

Family Life in Phayao

05/22/2010

We continue to learn a lot about this little town called Phayao. I wish I could communicate all the insights we are gaining, but I don’t want to write that much and you don’t want to read that much. But, I do want to share some of the major things we are learning. Below you will find a report on our research related to family life in Phayao (click the link below for a pdf version). Chris, Haley, Ryan and I all conducted interviews on this topic and spent days synthesizing all the data. Ryan then did a great job of writing up a summary of our findings. He also explained our methodology of research. It is a bit long, but I at least wanted you to have the opportunity to see what we are doing and learning. We also have a few other, much shorter, reports I will post later on. This one, though, is fairly comprehensive and will give you a good perspective on what our research looks like.

Phayao Family Research Summary

6 comments

  1. I made it to the end and there is a lot to process. I would love to sit in on the group and hear your conversation and what the next steps are. It is amazing what you are doing and how this will be a benefit to the people you will touch. What do you tell your interviewees that you are doing? Did anyone refuse to talk to you?
    Love,
    Mom


  2. Ann, have you been to the Heaven Hell Park?

    By the way, the bug eating is interesting. Did you actually eat one? Don’t try to get Haley to do that. She’ll run all the way back to Bangkok straight for the airport for the next flight out!


  3. I liked reading the research summary. You guys are doing some amazing work in such a short period of time. I’m very impressed. If you ever want to brainstorm some theories about why the marriage relationships do not function as they do in the US, I have some theories. I’m so proud of you guys and how you let God lead you!


    • Cara, I’d love to hear your thoughts on why marriage here is different than in the U.S. if you have time to share those with us.


  4. Your repoart is really amazing. While reading, I could understand many of the experciences and encounters that I made during the time living in Phayao. I follow your blog and your work. God bless you!


  5. Yes, emic is such an interesting word. Do you know the history or the origin of, “emic”?



Leave a Reply

