h1

Injury Report

02/28/2010

It’s been a busy few weeks, and we have been slacking on our blog. So, here is a quick update and some pictures.

The highlight of the last few weeks was that Ann’s parents came to visit. It was such a great time, and it was hard to see them go. (We will say more about their trip later.) For now, I thought I would catch you up on the Reese family injury report. A few days into Ann’s parents being here, Brynn decided to drop a heavy chair on her foot. Her big toenail looked bad, but it began to heal over the next few days. However, on the fourth day, when she was at school, a fellow student stepped on Brynn’s bad toe. It started bleeding and wouldn’t stop. I took her to the emergency room because her entire toenail was elevated on top of a huge blood blister. I then had to hold her down while the doctor gave her 3 shots in her big toe to deaden it. He then pulled off her big toenail. Ouch! Brynn did amazingly well and has been nursing her toe back to health. It seems to be healing well, but it will take about 6 months for the toenail to grow back completely.

Then, a few hours before we took Ann’s parents to the airport in Chiang Mai, Ann picked up Meg too quickly and hurt her lower back. It continued to hurt after we returned to Phayao, keeping her from sleeping well at night. Finally, on Thursday, she began to feel numbness and tingling down her leg and into her foot. We went to the doctor, and he said she has a herniated disc. She is taking medicine, and is scheduled to go back to the doctor on Thursday to see what further treatment needs to be done. The doctor said the most important thing for her is rest, no lifting, and no bending down. This is hard for her since that means she cannot hold the girls.

(The following part wasn’t originally going to be in this post.) Finally, during church this morning, Brynn came down with a fever. She and Ann are resting in bed together. I am not sure what Brynn has, but her fever is around 101-102. I am desperately hoping this is a fast bug. And to top things off, before we left church this morning Meg fell and got a bloody lip…all better now but just a cherry on top of an already hard day!

So, any prayers for restored health (and a break from hospital trips) would be greatly appreciated.

Brynn was sure to keep her foot elevated after the “surgery.” And Meg had to do the same thing. Good thing Mimi was here to help care for them.

*Update: Brynn is doing better, but, of course, Meg caught what she had. So, she is trying to get over a fever as well. Ann’s back is feeling better, and she goes to the doctor tomorrow. Thanks for your encouragement and prayers.

7 comments

  1. oh my goodness! I’m so sorry you all are dealing with a season of injuries. No fun at all. And I’m especially sorry, Ann, about your back. I know firsthand what it’s like being “out of commission” as a mom with toddlers. I can’t carry mine around, either, right now. I hope things settle down quickly and your girls understand about your back. (My boys have been really great about my ankle.)


  2. So sorry about all the injuries! Ann – I have had a herniated disc for about 10 years and for hte most part I can control it by just being careful – which really is the hardest part 🙂 I also have had alot of luck with an inversion table. Not sure what all you can get your hands on. Sometimes rest is best! Hope life is back to normal soon!


  3. ahh man! i hate to hear about all these injuries and sicknesses. it can be absolutely exhausting when stuff like this all happens at once. we will be praying for everyone to heal quickly and that there will be no more accidental injuries!


  4. Oh no! That stinks. Not gonna lie: I cringe when I think about Brynn’s nail-less toe. YEESH. I’m getting the shivers just thinking about that. Ann-hope your back starts feeling better soon. I mean, it’s not like you ever have to bend down or pick up heavy things in your life, so you should heal right up in no time! :o/

    Love you guys and pray for you everyday! Hope you had a great time with the family and that you’re getting some much-needed rest!!


  5. What are we going to do with you Reeses?! Stop it already with the injuries. I’m so sorry that all of this is going on, I wish I could be there to help out. Know that we’re praying for you all the time and will continue to pray for healing and good health. Derran, “Job,” I’m saying a special prayer for you. You’re an amazing father and husband. Thanks for taking such good care of my sis and neices. Love you guys so much!!


  6. I am so sorry you guys are having such a rough time right now, what in the world? Poor sweet little Brynn, I hope she is feeling much better. Ann, I hope your back is feeling better, that is so miserable and painful. I am saying prayers for all of you !! We have an injury here as well, Lauren got hurt playing basketball and is on crutches, she went back to the doctor today and there is some ligament damage so she will need therapy 3 times a week, she is very bummed needless to say !! Let’s hope and pray for a much better month this month !! I love you all very much,GET WELL SOON !!


  7. that post was from me 🙂 forgot to leave my name !!



Leave a Reply

